27th Anniversary Season, 2016–2017


This is the biggest season in the history of the Athenaeum’s chamber music series. In this one, 2016–2017, season we will have solos; duets; a trio, quartet, and quintet; sextets; septets; and the world premiere performance of the Los Angeles Philharmonic Octet, performing the Schubert octet, the grandest, most-beloved octet of all time—here in the Athenaeum’s Joan & Irwin Jacobs Music Room! The Los Angeles Philharmonic Octet will be playing the same exact program one week later in Disney Hall and then will take it on the road to Washington, D.C., Chicago, and New York. So we will be the very first venue to host this special performance.


Enjoy chamber music as it was intended—in a warm, intimate setting, where you are treated as a guest in our historic home. All concerts are followed by a private reception with the artists.


These concerts are made possible in part, thanks to funding from the City of San Diego through a program managed by the Commission for Arts and Culture and the County of San Diego.


Brahms Sextets w/ Henschel Quartett October 26

Zwilich Septet w/ Calidore Quartet and Neave Trio November 8

Michelle Cann and Zahari Metchkov, duo pianists February 3

The Trout Quintet w/ Trio con Brio Copenhagen and guests March 8

The New Bach Trio March 30

Los Angeles Philharmonic Octet May 2


Athenaeum Music & Arts Library

Joan and Irwin Jacobs Music Room 

1008 Wall Street

La Jolla, CA 92037

Click here for directions


All concerts begin at 7:30 PM.


Series of 6 Concerts: $228 member / $258 nonmember

Individual Concerts: $40 member / $45 nonmember



Online tickets are subject to ticketing and credit card fees.