Athenaeum Library Gala

Special Concerts

Clara and Her Loves

A Special Concert on the 200th Birthday of Clara Schumann

A special concert presented by Violinist Victoria Martino and Pianist James Lent


Friday, September 13, 2019

All concerts begin at 7:30 PM.


Join Victoria Martino and James Lent on Clara Schumann’s 200th birthday in a special concert highlighting the illustrious career of one of the most renowned virtuoso pianists and composers of the Romantic era. 


Born on September 13, 1819, Clara Wieck was groomed by an authoritative and ambitious father for a career as a piano soloist and composer. At the age of 11, she embarked upon her first European tour. A gifted young pianist by the name of Robert Schumann was so taken by Clara’s musical abilities, that he requested lessons from her father. Thus began one of the most legendary romances in history. Clara bore eight children to Robert, only a few of whom lived to maturity. Robert suffered from depression, which finally led him to commit himself to a mental institution, where he died. Clara supported the family with concerts and teaching. She also produced an impressive output of compositions during her lifetime, among which are the exquisite Three Romances for Violin and Piano, composed in 1853, and dedicated to the violinist Joseph Joachim. In the course of several decades, Clara and Joachim performed over 200 recitals together to sellout crowds throughout Europe, featuring “classics” (e.g., Bach, Mozart, Beethoven) and “contemporaries” (e.g., Mendelssohn, Schumann, Brahms).


In this special concert, Victoria Martino and James Lent will perform a program inspired by the many recitals of Clara Schumann and Joseph Joachim, including several of the works for which the duo was most renowned. The Three Romances will be the centerpiece of the concert, definitively demonstrating the exceptional creative gifts of Clara Schumann and her justifiable claim to be considered one of the great musical figures of the Romantic era.


About Victoria Martino and James Lent:

A magna cum laude graduate of Harvard University and the University of California, violinist Victoria Martino has concertized extensively throughout Europe, North America, Australia, and Japan. Considered a specialist both in early music and contemporary performance practice, her repertoire spans six centuries. Martino is passionately committed to the revival of works by major composers that are rarely performed, and has become known internationally for her anniversary concerts and “marathons” of the complete works for violin (unaccompanied and accompanied) by many composers, including Bach, Beethoven, Leonard Bernstein, Brahms, Corelli, Gade, Grieg, Handel, Hindemith, Ives, Lutoslawski, Pärt, Sibelius, Tchaikovsky, and Telemann. Martino’s “Mozart Marathon,” an eight-hour performance with James Lent, of all 32 of the composer’s violin sonatas, has been presented regularly to public and critical acclaim since his 250th birthday in 2006. Martino plays an original, unmodified Baroque violin by Michael Andreas Bartl (Vienna, 1760) and a modernized violin by Jakob Stainer (Absam, 1670).


James Lent holds a DMA from Yale School of Music, where he studied under Boris Berman, Claude Frank, and Peter Frankl. He currently teaches and coordinates collaborative piano at UCLA and serves as the Music Department’s principal pianist for choral and vocal studies.


Joan & Irwin Jacobs Music Room

Athenaeum Music & Arts Library

1008 Wall Street

La Jolla, CA 92037

Click here for directions


Individual Concerts: $35 member / $40 nonmember




Online tickets are subject to ticketing fees.